178, 2.9 University of Sydney, any chance with t6/14? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
rosbaz

New

178, 2.9 University of Sydney, any chance with t6/14?

Post by rosbaz » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:53 am

Hi guys,

I have a 178 in lsat and a 2.9 gpa. I am a UG student at the University of Sydney, bachelor of science and bachelor of law. I will be finishing my science degree (1st degree) next year and my wam (Australian GPA) is around top 20-30% of my class.

I came to Australia three years ago to undertake a dual degree UG course and now, if I choose to stay in Sydney, I will have my LLB degree by the end of 2020. But in the past 3 years, I have became incredibly homesick and regretted coming to Sydney since I can only see my family once a year. Now I want to go back to the US and unite with my family and I am trying every possible way out of it. I learned from my faculty that I will have a choice to continue my LLB part (2 years) of my second degree from USYD or just graduate. I have been thinking for over 6 months and now have decided to apply for JD in the US. I have a LSAT score of 178, but my GPA is only 2.9 (a part of the reason is that Australia University has different schooling and marking system than the US University, and I can probably explain that in my application).

I am just wondering if my (foreign?) GPA would play a big part in my application and if I have a shot with the t6 or t14 law schools. Because Sydney Law School was ranked the 11th last year and it would be stupid for me to drop USYD and go to law school that is outside the t14.

Thank you guys for helping me here. I really appreciate any consideration. :D :D :D