2.8 GPA, 161 LSAT, URM ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
maraschino

New

2.8 GPA, 161 LSAT, URM ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Post by maraschino » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:11 pm

I have a 2.8 UGPA. Psychology Major from ASU. Last few years of college (last 70 credits) I had a 3.3GPA.

Decent softs: Mexican American female, disadvantaged background, Americorps member, 5+ years volunteer experience, LOR from employer at non-profit, americorps program manager and philosophy professor.

I took the LSAT last Feb after taking one practice exam and scored 161.
I'm currently studying for the June LSAT in 2016 and confident I will break 170.

So tell me, am I crazy to apply to most of the lower T14? Also tossing apps to GW, UT-Austin, BC, BU, ASU/UofA.

I've creeped all over TLS and checked my lsn and I'm probably going to ED Northwestern unless there is some compelling reason I shouldn't. I really like Chicago, would be stoked to work on wrongful convictions and I am very interested in their LLM in International Human Rights.

I can't see Mich or UVA touching me w a 10 foot pole. So I don't even know if the report fees would be worth it the rejections.

I'd like ASU to be my safety school and right now with my numbers, it's a reach.

Thanks for your input!
Last edited by maraschino on Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

PoopNpants

Silver

Re: 2.8 GPA, 161 LSAT, URM, Retaking LSAT in Feb

Post by PoopNpants » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:20 am

If you do well on the LSAT, 165+ you should have a good shot, but a February LSAT is really late if you mean to apply this cycle FYI

maraschino

New

Re: 2.8 GPA, 161 LSAT, URM, Retaking LSAT in Feb

Post by maraschino » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:51 am

I called ASU admissions and they said it would be fine but yeah, prob less chance for scholarship money. Maybe I should wait until 2017?

maraschino

New

Re: 2.8 GPA, 161 LSAT, URM ¯\_(ツ)_/¯