3.68/169, K-JD Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Lawcat11

Bronze

3.68/169, K-JD

Post by Lawcat11 » Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:36 pm

Hi,

I am currently a rising senior in a top 30 liberal arts college. I was planning on applying to law school straight out of college since I am a philosophy major (and therefore a bit pessimistic about job prospects) but I got a pretty disappointing LSAT score in June and need to retake in October. I studied for several months and as averaging 174 on my last dozen or so PTs. I got a 169 in June and was shocked because I felt pretty confident about it afterwards. My LSAC GPA is 3.68.

I know these aren't the worst numbers ever, but prior to getting my LSAT score I was envisioning getting decent money at a T14 and now I'm not really sure where I stand. Again, I am retaking in October but I want to be prepared for if I don't improve. For softs, I have worked at least 20 hours per week (now averaging about 25-30) each semester and have had a few random summer internships. I guess what I'm really asking is whether it would be best to try for some work experience after graduation- I will be graduating with almost 30k of debt and a rather useless major, so I was actually hoping to avoid this.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

Mack.Hambleton

Platinum

Re: 3.68/169, K-JD

Post by Mack.Hambleton » Sat Jul 25, 2015 11:09 pm

Make sure you actually want to be a lawyer, and it's not just a solution to having a liberal arts degree and no plan.

You were PTing 174, retake until you get that if you do want to be a lawyer.

And yes not being KJD would be very valuable in allowing you time to retake and figure out if you want to go or not.

Hat.trick

Bronze

Post by Hat.trick » Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:18 pm

Retake your lsat in october like you plan to. Being K-JD isn't a bad thing. But even if you tank your retake, you still have solid numbers.