164, 3.4 GPA, MS in Tax Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Kuledj

New

164, 3.4 GPA, MS in Tax

Post by Kuledj » Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:50 am

Hi

I wanted to know what you thought about my possibilities of getting into Georgetown PT. Ive been working at a Big 4 accounting for over 3 years. Ive already gotten into GW but am waiting anxiously on Georgetown (my first choice).

Any ideas?

HoyaLawya16

New

Re: 164, 3.4 GPA, MS in Tax

Post by HoyaLawya16 » Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:53 pm

I think your chances are greater than you think they are. You'll be competing in a larger pool of applicants because there are fewer spots for people with your credentials, but I think your work experience makes up for your less than perfect GPA. I know many people who got in with similar credentials, and they came straight from undergrad. Stay positive, your odds are not bad!!!

*edit, just saw your major. Much better than if you had a 3.4 in a liberal arts major. Unless the rest of your application was weak, you should be fine. Let me know if you get in!!!

#GOHOYAS

Ramius

Gold

Post by Ramius » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:00 pm

Kuledj wrote:Hi

I wanted to know what you thought about my possibilities of getting into Georgetown PT. Ive been working at a Big 4 accounting for over 3 years. Ive already gotten into GW but am waiting anxiously on Georgetown (my first choice).

Any ideas?
I disagree with the above poster because PT numbers now affect usnwr, so the days of accepting lower stats for PT are over. You'll probably need a retake to get gulc.

Kuledj

New

Post by Kuledj » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:01 pm