HLS Advice. Please Help. Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cap10h

New

HLS Advice. Please Help.

Post by cap10h » Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:25 pm

Hello everyone,

I was hoping I could get some advice from all of you. Essentially, I want to get into HLS and I've been trying to work toward that goal for the last few years. I went to Florida State University and majored in political science and history. I graduated magan cum laude with a 3.8 GPA. I have been heavily involved in public policy research since my junior year and have even presented an individual research project at a major academic conference. I am currently in graduate school working on my Master's degree (also polisci and also at FSU). As I mentioned, I have worked on a lot of research and I currently have two papers that I will be submitting for publication at peer-reviewed polisci journals. Because of my involvement in research with professors, I have already secured letters of recommendation, one of which will be from my major professor who actually did a post-doctoral fellowship at HKS.

In addition to all the academic work, I have also been very involved in state politics, since FSU is located in Tallahassee (Florida's capital). I have worked as a legislative assistant for the League of Women Voters of Florida (a non-profit) and for the Florida Press Association (a professional association). Moreover, I am currently a member of the current class of Florida Gubernatorial Fellows - a prestigious (in Florida) program that selects 10 graduate and law students from across the state and places them at a state agency to work and learn how state government works. Furthermore, as part of the Fellowship we have weekly meetings with top state leaders, such as agency heads and members of the governor's cabinet.