3.2 GPA/ 156 practice LSAT- chances in Texas Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
muscleboundlaw

Bronze

3.2 GPA/ 156 practice LSAT- chances in Texas

Post by muscleboundlaw » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:31 pm

Hey guys,

I am new to these boards so I apologize if this is long. I graduated from Loyola University of Chicago last summer with two degrees: Finance and History. Unfortunately, due to partying and a horrible idea to be a doctor the first two years of college, my GPA is not the greatest in the world ( first two years 2.7, final three years 3.5). I have taken practice LSAT's and without much preparation I have been able to get a 156. I know this is not great and that I could do better with time but I am delaying the Law School process for now. I just moved to Virginia with my GF so she could go to med school. I planned on going to law school to get a dual jd/mba, but due to current conditions I will get my MBA first and then apply to law school after I get my MBA. That will be my most prevalent soft over the next couple of years. Anyway, with this knowledge, what schools should I consider post MBA with my degrees, gpa, and lsat? I need it to be in Texas because my GF and I plan on moving there to stay closer to her family so if we could focus on these law schools I would appreciate it. I am not too worried about the cover of my law degree as I plan on practicing in Texas, so I don't necessarily need it to be UT- Austin, but I also want it to carry some weight in the business world ( I want to focus in corporate law).

I apologize for the length of this post, but any help is greatly appreciated. Any ideas where I should stand with my LSAT to get into the UT- Austin, SMU, or Baylor's?

Yeezus.

New

Re: 3.2 GPA/ 156 practice LSAT- chances in Texas

Post by Yeezus. » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:27 pm

Why do you want to get an MBA if you are looking to practice corporate law?