engineer/stay at home dad admission chances Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mojotheamazing

New

engineer/stay at home dad admission chances

Post by mojotheamazing » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:11 pm

I am looking for some guidance.

I recently took the Lsat (164) Decided this is what I wanted to do and studied for ~3 weeks before the exam.

I have a Material Science and Engineering at a top 10 engineering school. (gpa ~2.7 do not remember exactly it has been 10 years.)
I worked as a research engineer for 6 years, and have been a stay at home dad for the past 6.

I am looking at University of Minnesota or William Mitchell College of Law

--LinkRemoved--

I think I can improve on my Lsat score, but I also want to start school this fall.
Recently had a bad case of LIFE that made me decide to try a new direction.
Do I have a chance getting in with these credentials?

empyreanrrv

Bronze

Re: engineer/stay at home dad admission chances

Post by empyreanrrv » Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:43 pm

http://www.mylsn.info/xcqrcr

Minnesota doesn't look too good, and I'm not sure it would pay to go to William Mitchell. If you can get a 164 with only three weeks of studying, you should definitely study more and retake. Most people go through 3-4 months and 25+ practice tests of studying. The only thing that is going to overcome your low GPA is going to be a high LSAT. Don't be satisfied until you can push into the 170s. Schools only take the highest score anyway, so you really have nothing to lose. It is MUCH better to apply next cycle with a higher score than go to a poor school now.

Diamond

Post by 09042014 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:47 pm

Did your wife cheat / leave you?

Nova

Platinum

Post by Nova » Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:51 pm

167+ in June will give you a good chance to get into UMN this cycle (assuming you are a Minn citizen). With a 2.7, youre on the outside looking in with anything below a 167.