Retake a (three year old) 171? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
redsox

Silver

Retake a (three year old) 171?

Post by redsox » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:52 pm

Once upon a time, I was an undergraduate who kind of wanted to go to law school, so I took the June 2010 LSAT. Did well on my diagnostic and few practice tests, so I didn't really take studying all that seriously, ended up with a 171 and a -6 on the games. Decided not to go to law school, graduated with a 3.89 (BA/MA in a social science), set out to become a productive inhabitant of the real world.

Now, after a couple years in finance, law school is looking much more appealing than gainful employment. The real world isn't any fun, and grad school seems like a socially acceptable escape. And business school is dumb. And if I were a doctor, people would die. So that leaves law school. I plan on applying next fall (so starting school in fall 2014). I know that I'll get into some good schools with a 3.89/171, but:

1) It still kills me that I was so lazy about studying, and that I got a -6 on the most learnable section of the test;
2) It'd be nice to get some money somewhere, because law school is expensive, and a few more points on the LSAT could probably help with that;
3) I don't know if there's any issue with the fact that my score will be a little over four years old when I start school (I know Cornell, for example, has an earlier cutoff than the normal 5 years); and
4) I'm probably a somewhat uninteresting applicant for my numbers, so better numbers might be better...

So if you were me, would you retake? Thoughts? Criticisms? Advice?

jetsfan1

Silver

Re: Retake a (three year old) 171?

Post by jetsfan1 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:57 pm

My general rule of thumb: You think you can do better = retake you think you have reached your potential = apply