Engineering Undergrad --> Patent Law, Need Reality Check Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
nxaver12

New

Engineering Undergrad --> Patent Law, Need Reality Check

Post by nxaver12 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:37 pm

I am a currently an undergraduate student that has been thinking about applying for law school even before I started college. I more or less shadowed a patent attorney back in 2010 and since then it seems to fit what I think I want to do with my professional career. I really enjoy engineering in the sense that I love reading and thinking about new technologies however my math and science skills are not that great in the sense that I could not see myself working in the field and applying my skills. I actually have a much easier time grasping business and economics concepts than I do engineering concepts but I don't enjoy business and economics as I do engineering (hence why I didn't go that route).

I am posting here for a reality check. I'm looking to get clear information regarding what good patent law schools look for in students since all I have read and heard doesn't, in my opinion, directly apply to my situation/background. Basically, with the below background information, which schools would even consider me as a solid candidate and which ones would be a reach for me? I fear that my undergraduate GPA in engineering will hold me back from getting into a good law school despite my aptitude for business, economics and law is far superior than my aptitude for engineering.

Background:
Cooperative Education Program (5 year program of which 1.5 years are done working in the field on co-op)
Major: Materials Science and Engineering (further geared toward Biomaterials)
Minor: Engineering Management
Current GPA: ~3.0 (realistically aiming to graduate with a 3.15 to 3.25; highest I can graduate with given I get all As is 3.49 (however this is very optimistic))