3.1 169 NYC? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Easy-E

Platinum

3.1 169 NYC?

Post by Easy-E » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:42 pm

Scored a 169 on my recent go at the LSAT. Over-performed on LR big time, but missed 7 on games, a section that has been really hit or miss for me both times I prepped (161 in October). I'm a lifetime NJ resident, and would very much like to work in NYC. With my numbers as they are (average softs, 2 years WE), is a retake my only shot to get into NYC? My parents have offered to help out with my debt. They are both well-off, but I don't want to place a huge burden on them, as I have two brothers in fairly expensive undergrad schools. It's not so much that I can't fathom another retake in October, I'm just concerned I won't do any better than I did this time, as I way over performed on LR on test day.

So like I said, do I have any options with my current numbers, or if I am dead-set on NYC, is a retake my only choice? I've considered Rutgers (and working in NJ obviously) since the cost would be very low, but the job prospects worry me.

Edit: Just looking at LSP, and it has 21% and 26% "At/Below" for UVA and NU respectively. With the ED option (I don't know how accurate this is), I get a weak consider for UVA. I assumed 170 was the mark for either of these schools, at least for a splitter like me. Should I assume those are mostly URM?
Last edited by Easy-E on Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Asst. Principal Bone

New

Re: 3.1 169 NYC?

Post by Asst. Principal Bone » Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:46 pm