Hard decisions ahead... Help! Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
flgatorguy

New

Hard decisions ahead... Help!

Post by flgatorguy » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:14 pm

Short background info:

Graduated from University of Florida in 2010 with dual degree in Finance and History. GPA of 3.82, according to LSAC.
LSAT score of 162 with a month of studying (Powerscore prep course)
Applied late (March) to law schools in T20-50 range.

As of today I have received acceptances and schollys to PennState and Temple. And was accepted to UF Law with no merit money. Waitlisted everywhere else I applied (BU, BC, Emory, UGA, etc)

I don't feel like I'm a mediocre student, but I feel like I only have mediocre choices in front of me. Should I be content with being a double-gator? Or do I take another year off, study 4-5months for October LSAT, apply early, and hope for the best?

My only problem with a retake/reapply option is that what if I can't raise my score and I'm in the same spot (or worse) come next year. Thanks in advance for the help guys.

moonman157

Silver

Re: Hard decisions ahead... Help!

Post by moonman157 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:24 pm

Definitely retake. You have a great GPA, don't waste it. If you want to stay in Florida, retake and get lots of $$$ from Florida and go there. Otherwise, a higher score will definitely get you into some much better schools (as will applying earlier).

JoeMo

Gold

Post by JoeMo » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:26 pm

moonman157 wrote:Definitely retake. You have a great GPA, don't waste it. If you want to stay in Florida, retake and get lots of $$$ from Florida and go there. Otherwise, a higher score will definitely get you into some much better schools (as will applying earlier).
This.

Edit: The automatic response would've been retake but since you're already considering taking the year off then you will find yourself well served by that decision.