3.06/LSAT (???)/Law Schools in Cali Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
d0rklord

Bronze

3.06/LSAT (???)/Law Schools in Cali

Post by d0rklord » Sun Aug 21, 2011 3:43 pm

Hello...

I'm totally new to this entire applying to law school thing, as i have only recently decided I want to go...

I received a 3.06 UGPA (horrible I know...) in Finance...

The reason my GPA was so shitty is because of a few factors...

It was a 3.45 before my "senior" (i graduated in 2.5 years so basically just my last year) year of UG.... But working full time/taking a full course load at night/weekends wasn't going as well as i planned. My mom is a single mom, my dad is alive but stopped supporting my brother and I when we turned 18... However, my brother is Autistic, can't get a job... He was also denied any state support...

Also, Finance is fucking boring.

The first law firm i worked at, while completing UG totally dettered me from law school... The place was prehistoric (no internet, yes in 2010 with no internet) and the senior partner was a condescending pot smoking pervert...

However, the new firm I am at, post-bacc, makes me seriously consider law school, and lets me know it isn't all bad...

I have 3+ years of Legal Secretary Work Experience (if that matters at all?)

I was just wondering realistically what I would need to get on the LSAT in order to get into the following schools, with my shitastic GPA...

Basically, all the schools in California, even though half of them are out of the questions:

Bloat
UCLA
USC
Loyola
Pepperdine
Davis
Hastings
Southwestern
Santa Clara

Also, my main goal is to transfer up to UCLA/Bloat/USC (assuming I get into a lower ranked school, which is likely). I know most people say this, it's a common wish of 1L's however...

I am going to do it. (at least, i'm going to work my ass to the bone trying)