William and Mary/UVA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Avisron

New

William and Mary/UVA

Post by Avisron » Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:36 am

First, I could specify that the situation in calculating my GPA is a little bit foggy.

Basically, when I was in high school, I took a few pre-calculus classes as Dual Enrollment through a community college that I never actually attended otherwise. My father was incredibly sick (near death) during this time period (which I'll explain in other admissions materials,) and I made D's in both classes.

I am a Virginia resident and I attend the University of Virginia's College at Wise as a History major. My current GPA at UVA-Wise is a 3.55 and strongly rising, and I expect it to be at or over a 3.65 by graduating. That number, 3.65, seems to be the sweet spot for UVA and William and Mary, especially with a strong LSAT.

The only problem is those aforementioned D's. They'll bring my official LSDAS GPA down to around a 3.5. I don't want to sound like I'm making a big deal about this, because I know there have been people who got cancer or who forgot to submit a test or whatever and it sunk them to like a 3.0. I get that. I understand that the difference in a 3.65 and a 3.5 isn't that substantial... but will that sink me? I'm sort of a type A personality. It just seems that any admissions council will see I have a pretty good record otherwise.

Oh, LSAT. I haven't taken it yet, but every practice test and released tests puts me at least around a 165, and I haven't studied for it at all. Take that as you will, but I doubt I'll break 170.