174 / no GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
AntipodeanPhil

Silver

174 / no GPA

Post by AntipodeanPhil » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:33 am

I have an UG degree from a foreign university, so no LSAC GPA. My transcript was rated as "superior" by LSAC (it's a 1st class honors degree), but my grade average was listed as "A-/B+" (my school is tough on grades).

I took the LSAT once, in June, and got a 174.

I have a Ph.D. from a well respected US state school (with a firmly T1 law school) - not Michigan, Berkeley or UVA, alas. My graduate GPA is 3.89.

I have two publications, one on a legal topic, in an interdisciplinary law journal, and a good story to tell about why I am interested in law school. For the last academic year, I worked as a visiting assistant professor at a very small school in New England, but I might be unemployed when I apply to law schools, or (more likely) employed in a position that won't look great on my CV.

I'm a US permanent resident with a good credit history, so I shouldn't have any trouble getting loans.

I'll be applying as soon as applications are available, and I have no idea what to expect. I feel fairly confident I'll land somewhere in the T14 thanks to my LSAT, but where? I am aware that because of my unusual situation nobody really knows - I'm interested in guesses though, or whatever small pieces of information people might have.

bhan87

Silver

Re: 174 / no GPA

Post by bhan87 » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:38 am

AntipodeanPhil wrote:I have an UG degree from a foreign university, so no LSAC GPA. My transcript was rated as "superior" by LSAC (it's a 1st class honors degree), but my grade average was listed as "A-/B+" (my school is tough on grades).

I took the LSAT once, in June, and got a 174.

I have a Ph.D. from a well respected US state school (with a firmly T1 law school) - not Michigan, Berkeley or UVA, alas. My graduate GPA is 3.89.