High LSAT, Low GPA due to illness Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
daniele88

New

High LSAT, Low GPA due to illness

Post by daniele88 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:50 am

Hey everyone, thanks for reading. I have a 2.69 GPA. Yikes, right? I suffer with a blood disorder which causes me to be in and out the hospital often, which in turn has affected my GPA. I graduated in the Spring, but thanks to a new regimen of medication I've been taking, I haven't been sick in months, and my hematologist says that my blood work is back to the normal level it was when I was in high school, and that he would be shocked if I got seriously ill again. This June I scored a 177 on my LSAT. While I don't plan on applying to Harvard or anything, I was wondering what my chances are at getting into a fairly good school, given my situation. I have good letters of recommendation and a good essay, I was just wondering what schools I should logically be looking at.

Thanks!

Diamond

Re: High LSAT, Low GPA due to illness

Post by 09042014 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:12 am

Minnesota/WUSTL/Illinois/Iowa/Indiana

If you can get two years of work experience you have a shot at Northwestern if you apply ED.

You can do the waterman maneuver, apply ED at GULC, then switch to part time.

daniele88

New

Post by daniele88 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:17 am

Desert Fox wrote:Minnesota/WUSTL/Illinois/Iowa/Indiana

If you can get two years of work experience you have a shot at Northwestern if you apply ED.

Thanks.

Could you explain the whole switching to part time thing? Are you saying to apply to Georgetown, then apply to transfer to another school as a part time student? I think I'm misunderstanding you.

Diamond

Post by 09042014 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:18 am

daniele88 wrote:

Thanks.