Significant score jump and how it's interpreted Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
GDRUSRaven

New

Significant score jump and how it's interpreted

Post by GDRUSRaven » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:19 pm

Hello all! This is my first post to the forum, though I have been reading threads for months now. I have gotten a lot of my own questions asked by others answered here, and it is nice to see that there are people out there with the same questions as I do.

So, like many of you, I took the June LSAT. It was a retake, due to the fact that I scored horribly the first time around. I won't be shy about it, since my question concerns scores; it was a 141 :shock: I studied for several months for the June test and felt really confident walking in, but then around the fourth section (RC) I lost my focus & I don't think it went well from there on. Anyway, I ended up with a 153. I am not terribly upset, because I know I studied hard and did the best I could at the time (though, I am saying in the back of my head now "if I only got 16 more right", like that is cake!).

Through my research I have chosen several schools to apply to, but I am really interested in Cardozo and DePaul. Both offer extensive courses in Art & Cultural Heritage Law, and that is what I would like to study. I received a 3.07 UGPA with a 3.5 major GPA, again not super, but first semster killed me. (I am proud to say I made Dean's list my last 2 1/2 years of school :D ). I have done research on my schools about median GPA and LSAT scores for both full-time and part-time, but I was wondering, do schools look at applicants more favorably if there is a significant increase in their score? With LOR and a strong PS aside, would I stand out for either of my top schools (DePaul or Cardozo) as a (for a lack of a better word) unique applicant?