170/172 LSAT and 3.0 GPA Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
wjohnson1445

New

170/172 LSAT and 3.0 GPA

Post by wjohnson1445 » Sun May 23, 2010 9:45 am

Hello all!

In 2002, I graduated with a 3.0 CGPA. Admittedly, I struggled through my undergraduate years; but my grades improved as I progressed through schooling. My major was not particularly demanding. However, while enrolled, I was employed by the local prosecutor's office (clerical work). After graduating, I attended flight school -- where I earned my FAA Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor Licenses/Certificates. I was then employed as a flight instructor at a flight school. While employed as a flight instructor, I was simultaneously enrolled in a graduate program.

In 2005, I completed my graduate degree with a 4.0 CGPA. Later in the year -- and after attending my department's police academy -- I was employed as a police officer with one of the largest police departments in the nation. In 2008, I earned a Paralegal Certificate from an ABA accredited school (4.0 CGPA).

In 2009, I took the LSAT twice -- receiving a 170 on the first try, and a 172 on the second try. Currently, I am employed as a newly-promoted Sergeant with the same police department (saving for law school and its expenses). I am 30 years old.

I plan on applying to the following law schools:

1. UCLA (Preferred)
2. Loyola Law School (Los Angeles)
3. Cornell
4. Hastings

In your opinion, what are my chances for each law school?

Thank you!

vale1rd

New

Re: 170/172 LSAT and 3.0 GPA

Post by vale1rd » Sun May 23, 2010 10:13 am

I think with your excellent softs you have a shot at all four. Loyola and Hastings for sure. The other two you may be wait-listed and then admitted of just admitted, it depends on how much they like you.

vanwinkle

Platinum

Post by vanwinkle » Sun May 23, 2010 10:22 am