Prctised law 20 years...LLM Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
gogulc

New

Prctised law 20 years...LLM

Post by gogulc » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:29 am

I've been a lawyer since 1991, worked with financial services companies as corporate lawyer and compliance for the last 15 years, I have just applied for the georgetown securities llm... am I crazy?

MURPH

Silver

Re: Prctised law 20 years...LLM

Post by MURPH » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:29 am

no

LurkerNoMore

Bronze

Post by LurkerNoMore » Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:36 am

Yes.

Why? Apply to the SEC, learn more, have better exit opportunities and get paid instead of paying for the education.

Cole S. Law

Bronze

Post by Cole S. Law » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:12 pm

LurkerNoMore wrote:Yes.

Why? Apply to the SEC, learn more, have better exit opportunities and get paid instead of paying for the education.
I imagine the OP is looking to semiretire to academia. His/her experience is more than enough already.

If you're not looking to start teaching, I doubt you'll glean any new knowledge, skills, or income from an LLM.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Sun Mar 28, 2010 12:19 pm

An LLM Degree does not typically prepare one for a career in academia-that would be an SJD.
An LLM Degree is often taught by practitioners in that specialized area of law such as tax law, labor law or securities law. It can be an entree into law firms practicing in those areas.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Cole S. Law

Bronze

Post by Cole S. Law » Sun Mar 28, 2010 4:24 pm

Check out your faculty's CVs. Look at the dates of the LLMs and the date they entered academia.

MURPH

Silver

Post by MURPH » Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:33 pm