Accepted into Top PhD/LLM Programs Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
WizardofOz2022

New

Accepted into Top PhD/LLM Programs

Post by WizardofOz2022 » Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:28 am

I got into Yale, Harvard, and NYU’s LLM programs. I also got into UC Berkeley’s JSP PhD, UChi’s Ph.D Political Science Program, and Yale’s Ph.D in Law Program.

I’m selecting UC Berkeley’s JSP Program because of a combination of reasons: academic interests, tenure track placement, flexibility, and location. I ultimately want to be a law professor.

Here are my numbers:

Attended T1 Law School (Vandy,UCLA, UT Austin range, not T14).
On Journal, but not law review.
Did Moot Court, but dropped out after I got class credit.
GPA: 3.858
Also, I have a masters degree in public policy from high ranking public policy school.

Here is some other potentially useful info: I developed really close relationships with 3 professors, 2 of which are really big deals in their respective legal fields. I got great LORs from them.

I wrote a great personal statement and research agenda (some programs combine the two, others don’t). I had several professors read them I painstakingly crafted them and went through several drafts.

I also had a very refined/polished writing sample that I wrote in a legal seminar. (I didn’t use my note because it sucked). I also tied my writing sample to my research agenda and how it related to the work of several faculty members at the programs I applied to.

In addition, although I put a ton of work into my application materials, I still procrastinated and send my applications in hours/minutes before the deadline (don’t make this bonehead mistake). However, my key takeaway based on my acceptances is that there is no rolling in process.

Hope this info helps potential applicants!

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Accepted into Top PhD/LLM Programs