New England Law 2014 Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
ggx

New

New England Law 2014

Post by ggx » Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:42 am

Anyone seriously considering NEL:B for next year?

I got a significant scholarship, and I am very tempted to come out with little debt. I have been working in criminal law for almost 4 years now, and am staying at the small private firm I am at now through at least my first year if I go here. I would love to stay part time for all three years however I would like to explore other criminal law firms and participate in clinics. I work in the city, and live in Newton (about 10 miles outside of city).

I know the school gets a lot of grief on here, and I understand why. However, my husband is an alum (class of 09) and now has a job he loves, pays well, and where he uses his degree daily.

Barring an acceptance from BU or significant money at another Boston school, I think this is where I will end up.

TLG

New

Re: New England Law 2014

Post by TLG » Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:47 pm

I was accepted to New England Law as well, with a great scholarship. However, that was the last school on my list and would prefer to go to Northeastern (waitlisted). My next concern is that I may not get in another school with such a great scholarship opportunity. I do not live in the Boston area so I am unsure of New England Law's reputation. What do you know of its reputation?

sparcarc

New

Post by sparcarc » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:02 pm

It's just okay, nothing special. There is an attorney from NESL here in our office and she does struggle. But again, it's not impossible to find a job I don't think, although talking with her, it does seem to be very difficult.

ggx

New

Post by ggx » Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:06 pm