Really Confused - Need advice Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
uzgunum

New

Really Confused - Need advice

Post by uzgunum » Sat May 08, 2010 1:30 pm

So my cycle didn't go well at all and I'm confused as to why.

I'm an undergrad in a top 50 public school. Currently I have a 3.88 GPA (3.93 for my majors-Psychology/Sociology) and a LSDAS of 3.85. I took the LSAT once in Dec 2009 and scored a 168. I have two solid years of psychology research experience in 4 separate labs, including a summer working with NJDOC evaluating prison program effectiveness. I have 2 really good LORs from professors I worked with personally and one decent LOR. I'm from middle class suburbia and Asian. I sent out all my applications Jan 2nd. My cycle thus far:

UPenn: rejected
Ann Arbor: rejected
Berkeley: WL rejected
Cornell: rejected
Fordham: rejected

NYU: WL
Georgetown: SPWL
GW: WL
UCLA: WL
Cardozo: WL
USC: WL

I'm surprised at Fordham's outright rejection and Cardozo's and GW's WL. Even USC's WL surprises me because I was initially invited to apply to the Rothman Scholarship.

Any thoughts? Was I aiming to high? Or did I just apply to late? Is it because I'm still in undergrad?

Also, do you guys think I have a shot of getting off any WL? I've sent a LOCI to every school. Currently I'm studying abroad in Istanbul, Turkey and am in the process of establishing a pen pal program between 10-12 year olds in Turkey and the US as stipulated by my Gilman Scholarship.

If I apply really early next cycle will my chances be improved? I'll be out of undergrad with work experience hopefully. However, my LSDAS will probably drop to 3.80 since I'm doing shitty this semester.

Teoeo

Silver

Re: Really Confused - Need advice

Post by Teoeo » Sat May 08, 2010 1:33 pm

uzgunum wrote:So my cycle didn't go well at all and I'm confused as to why.