Transferring for a Career in Academia Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
shouldimove

New

Transferring for a Career in Academia

Post by shouldimove » Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:25 pm

I’m a 1L at my state’s only ls, a tier 3. I *know* I want a career in academia and anticipate that I may need to transfer in order to make that happen. I’m open to teaching anywhere. I have a MA in a social science field (4.00 GPA) and have five years teaching in that field at a state college. I graduated UG cum laude and have a 161 LSAT. 1st semester ls grades put my class rank in the top 7%. My current tuition is extremely low (about the cost of a community college), as my husband works for the university. If I stay here, I will automatically be on law review, be a TA, have an office, etc. I will have ample opportunities for clerkships and research *within this state.* I’m not a native of this state; we moved here b/c of hub’s job, and am unsure if I want to live here forever. So a couple questions
1) Should I transfer?
2) If so, where should I try for?
3) Do I have a shot at Gtown’s early app? If so, would that be a good place given my goals?
4) If I do go to a higher ranked school, and don’t make law review, are there other opportunities for publishing, and do I have still have a chance at academia?
Thanks for any help.

reasonable_man

Gold

Re: Transferring for a Career in Academia

Post by reasonable_man » Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:27 pm

To be a law prof; T6.

heyguys

Bronze

Post by heyguys » Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:28 pm

The academic market is intensely competitive when it comes to what school you attended. If you can get HYS, then go for it, but below that I wouldn't advise it unless you go for other reasons as well (e.g. biglaw, etc). Congrats on your class rank--fantastic.

sccjnthn

New

Post by sccjnthn » Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:34 pm