Schmoozing for recommendations Forum

Share Your Experiences, Read About Other Experiences. Please keep posts organized by school and expected year of graduation.
PhofiB

New

Schmoozing for recommendations

Post by PhofiB » Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:58 pm

I'm still an undergrad, and won't be applying to law school for at least a few years yet... but I was wondering...

I know letters of recommendation can make or break an admission offer sometimes. I want to be sure I can get some great letters... however, I always feel awkward trying to "click" with the few professors that I have had for classes repeatedly. A few of them have written letters for me before for other things already, so I'm hoping that they'll be willing to do me the favor again when I'm applying to law school.

Should I be making the extra effort to stop by their office hours and small talk and such at least once or twice through the semester when I don't have them for class? I always feel weird doing that unless there is a real class/schoolwork/academic issue at hand that I can go in with. I guess I feel like I'm forcing a relationship or something just to get a favor later on.

Don't get me wrong though, the profs. that I have somewhat "clicked" with are people whose work I really admire. It's more of my self-consciousness that I need to get over.

What do you suggest I do to keep maintaining good relationships with a few profs for recommendations later on? Also, what's the best way to ask for a letter? What else should you include besides perhaps a resume and a transcript for them to reference in writing a letter? Does a thank you card suffice afterward?

thaaanks :)

PhofiB

New

Re: Schmoozing for recommendations

Post by PhofiB » Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:04 pm

sorry... didn't realize i posted this in this this forum...

nematoad

Bronze

Post by nematoad » Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:05 pm