Did I mess up by accepting a State AG position for 1L summer? Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
Anonymous User

Did I mess up by accepting a State AG position for 1L summer?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jan 06, 2022 6:38 pm

I'm a 1L at a T14. During finals I interviewed for and accepted an offer to spend my 1L summer with the civil rights division of my home state. It's not CA or NY, but career advancement staff at my school said the state does good work. My eventual goal is to do some kind of civil enforcement work for either state or federal government; most interested in environmental work (which is where my background is), but open to other things too.

I was pretty excited about it and felt good to be done with the process until this week, when I received invitations to interview from a few other places I applied to. This set me to thinking that maybe I hadn't aimed as I as high as I could have (CA, or maybe even DOJ). I'm also wondering whether I've closed the door on environmental work in the future — I would hope not, given that I worked in the field before law school, but maybe legal employers really want you to spend all your internship time in the field.

I know that everyone says 1L summer can only help and can't hurt, but I'm freaking out a bit (stupidly, I know, but I don't yet have my grades to freak out over) and am wondering whether I erred, or if it truly doesn't matter. Any thoughts welcome.

Anonymous User

Re: Did I mess up by accepting a State AG position for 1L summer?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jan 06, 2022 7:02 pm