Taking Out Maximum Loans Each Semester Because of Loan Repayment? Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
Anonymous User

Taking Out Maximum Loans Each Semester Because of Loan Repayment?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Mar 01, 2021 12:55 am

Hi all,

I am a student at CLS who will likely be taking advantage of Columbia's LRAP program (>5 years of LRAP participation = total repayment).

Is there any reason NOT to max out the amount of loans CLS will give me each semester with the goal of them forgiving the loans later on?
I don't mean to travel every weekend or spend money on ridiculous purchases, but should I opt to live in a nicer apartment, spend more money on food etc. each semester and accrue more debt that will be paid off by CLS?

The major downsides I could see only rest with failing to obtain full loan forgiveness (a decision not to participate in LRAP-qualifying employment, or hating law and quitting before 5 years). But if I am committed to my job and am confident in passing the bar... should I commit to maximizing my loans each semester?

Anonymous User

Re: Taking Out Maximum Loans Each Semester Because of Loan Repayment?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Mar 01, 2021 5:18 pm

When you say "will likely be taking advantage of Columbia's LRAP program," do you mean you have a qualifying job offer that you likely will be taking? Because if not, then that's a huge reason not to max out on loans in hopes of getting LRAP.

nixy

Gold

Post by nixy » Mon Mar 01, 2021 5:34 pm