path to federal judge Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
Deor

New

path to federal judge

Post by Deor » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:46 pm

This is probably not realistic for me or most people of course. Even so, I'm just curious what it takes to become a federal judge. How good of a clerkship would you need? Could you get appointed after getting to a senior position in a federal agency? If so, which agencies could you do it from? I'm a senior in undergrad so I don't know how any of this works.

yankees12345!

New

Re: path to federal judge

Post by yankees12345! » Mon Sep 28, 2020 10:48 am

Deor wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:46 pm
This is probably not realistic for me or most people of course. Even so, I'm just curious what it takes to become a federal judge. How good of a clerkship would you need? Could you get appointed after getting to a senior position in a federal agency? If so, which agencies could you do it from? I'm a senior in undergrad so I don't know how any of this works.
Federal district court candidates are usually screened by a search committee consisting of prominent, politically-connected attorneys in the judge's home state. Those committees report up recommendations to the state's senators, who in turn make recommendations to the president.

If you look at the district court judges in any given jurisdiction, they are usually a combination of former federal prosecutors, big law partners, and state court appellate judges. Being an active member of the Federalist Society (for conservatives), or to a much lesser extent the American Constitution Society (for liberals), can be an important factor because it signals ideological consistency.