Help with Air Force JAG Application Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
bobsaccamanno41

New

Help with Air Force JAG Application

Post by bobsaccamanno41 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:31 pm

Hey all:

I'm looking for some general advice for my application to the Air National Guard JAG reserves.

I applied for active duty JAG back in 2012-2013 between semesters in my 3L year. Interviewed but was not offered a commission at that time (which I expected). I did not graduate from a top law school and there was nothing really special in my resume or application that would give me any sort of discernible boost.

Since my last application, I have been a licensed and practicing attorney for nearly seven years. Six of those years have been in public service. I worked as a public defender for approximately one year, and have been an assistant prosecutor for the last five years.

The two specific issues I'm struggling with are:

1) The personal statement. Its been so long that I'm out of practice on drafting these things and I'm not sure the best route to go. When I applied originally, I focused primarily on the fact that my grandfather was an air Force Vet and how the lessons he taught me had instilled a desire to serve my country, etc. etc. I think it's a better course to focus on my career that has almost entirely been devoted to public service and to emphasize and discuss my leadership qualities that I have honed throughout that time and how it would apply to service in JAG.