Best DA's Office to Work for in California? Forum

(Issue areas, International Law, International Public Interest, Public Service in the private sector, Non-Profits, Public Interest Organizations, Government/ government agencies, employment settings)
ohsaycanyousee

New

Best DA's Office to Work for in California?

Post by ohsaycanyousee » Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:12 pm

So many offices, so little info on the web. . . I feel like once I start applying, I'll be going in totally blind.

I'm a T14 grad, prob median or a little above, couple of years of biglaw experience (civil litigation). Am I even competitive to work at the better known offices?

Anonymous User

Re: Best DA's Office to Work for in California?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:39 pm

On a similar note--anybody familiar with the Contra Costa County or Alameda County DA offices in particular? Culture, types of lateral hires they look for, and so forth?

Not OP. Former non-CA state prosecutor and then criminal AUSA in a non-CA major metro, currently in a litigating DOJ component at Main. Will likely be moving back to the CA Bay Area within the next couple years for family reasons, so starting to pay attention to this.

Thanks in advance for any insight you can offer.

pbfalcon

New

Post by pbfalcon » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:44 pm

Here is my ranking of Bay Area da offices

1- Alameda County- I think the prosecutors here are the highest caliber—it is the most prestigious and selective office. Also includes Oakland, which brings with it interesting crime.

2. Santa Clara - super selective, attracts former big law litigators, and is a good place to be.

3. San Mateo and contra costa (I have heard bad things about CoCo, but they have a new DA so that might have changed).

4. San Francisco - just google the newly elected DA...

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Apr 27, 2020 4:36 am