Hate job / think I might get fired / not sure what to do next? Forum

(Advantages vs Disadvantages, Big Law, Work-Life Balance, Hiring Practices, Company Culture, Hours and Compensation, Private Sector Firm Reviews & Experiences)
Rerrrrygcghnnj

New

Hate job / think I might get fired / not sure what to do next?

Post by Rerrrrygcghnnj » Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:04 am

Hi. I'm a T3 grad ('19) at a V20 firm in a mid-tier market. I'm not thriving too well and I'm not sure what's going to happen next.

1) I think my firm isn't very happy with me. Pretty early on I got torn apart in an oh-so-nice way by an senior associate who gives me most of my work. Everyone else has been quite happy with me (especially with the bread-and-butter work of my practice) but this associate doesn't like me too much. My office is small, so I think that his opinions get around. So far, I'm still getting work from other associates.

2) I think that he's right. My heart isn't in it. The tedious hours (i.e., the equivalent of diligence/doc review/whatever other practice groups have) in my practice is just not something I do well. I feel like I want to jab my eyes out when I hear "you weren't detail oriented enoug on this."

3) I just don't like it. Even though my office has been slow and I haven't had anything like the brutal hours that I hear about from other associates I don't like the job, the perfectionism that I know is required, and everything else. It seems kind of silly and pointless to me.

4) I'm worried that I'm just not very good at working. I had a couple of careers before law school; I was great at some of it, not so good at other stuff. But because my biglaw experience has been really quite low-key, I'm unsure if: (a) this job is harder than I think (because of the perfectionism) or (b) notwithstanding my legal pedigree, I'm just not that good at it and should go get an $80K job at a small firm.