Should I quit my job to study for the LSAT full-time? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
RamTitan

Silver

Should I quit my job to study for the LSAT full-time?

Post by RamTitan » Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:33 pm

I posted this in a different forum, and it didn't gain any traction, so please don't hurt me mods :(

Background: I am a 23 year old who currently works at a small Internet marketing agency and lives at home. I've been studying for the LSAT since June of 2015; I've gone from a 146 to a 171. However, my ultimate goal (like many others) is to get a perfect score and earn admittance into Harvard (3.66 GPA).

Why I'm Thinking of Quitting My Job: In the month of April, just as things are going to get kicked into super high-gear LSAT mode for me, my boss wants me to work every single Saturday to help with business development from 9-4. Saturdays are when I typically take the test. I haven't really enjoyed working at this place that much, and I feel like I haven't learned a lot and probably won't learn that much more. I also feel like quitting would be a moment of liberation. While it may be hard to get another full-time job after leaving, I could teach ESL in China (something I've always wanted to do) for a year before going back to school, become a personal trainer (I'm obsessed with fitness), work at a law office, or maybe I would be able to get my feet back into the marketing industry at a better agency.

Either way, it seems like going for my goal of a 180 and then exploring other options afterwards is what my gut is telling me.

Why I'm Thinking Quitting Is a Bad Choice: I'm worried that it would be difficult to get another job if I was to leave. I also wonder if having a distraction from the LSAT is a good thing, that it allows me to shift focus away from test anxiety. Also, I wonder if law schools would frown upon me leaving an employer, and then not having something concrete for me to go back to once I'm done studying.