Is it Worth Practicing Oddball Logic Games? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
RamTitan

Silver

Is it Worth Practicing Oddball Logic Games?

Post by RamTitan » Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:21 pm

Any thoughts on perfecting older logic game types that have not been on the tests in some years?

gotCentred

New

Re: Is it Worth Practicing Oddball Logic Games?

Post by gotCentred » Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:43 pm

Absolutely. My two cents: I got a circle game when I took, since I had reviewed it that week I knew exactly what to do. I believe that's what got me past the 170 threshold, and I think this is the type of thing that differentiates good from great LSATs.

Binghamton1018

Bronze

Post by Binghamton1018 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:09 am

I'm studying for the June exam, so I can speak from very recent experience. I have been sprinkling in "oddball" games but not necessarily because I think the LSAC will revive strange and unique games that elude "traditional" setups (PT 2 G3 for example), but because I want my approach to games to be adaptable and malleable enough to be able to roll with the punches of the occasional odd game. With me, I've got basic linear and basic grouping games down cold my friend-I mean I have done over 400 over the course of my prep, yet when I come across a game I have no idea how to set-up, I have been freezing. Last week I time-drilled the games section of PT 40. I finished Games 1,2 and 4 in 19 minutes. I was looking at Game 3 with 16 minutes on the clock and could not figure it out for the life of me! I was -4 for the section and all 4 were from that game. This is a problem I have recognized in my approach to games. A problem I am going to have to solve in the next 4 months and 2 weeks.