Retake-- twice? (Strange situation.) Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
pizzicatodreams

New

Retake-- twice? (Strange situation.)

Post by pizzicatodreams » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:34 am

Hey everyone. So here's my situation:

I graduated from a top-tier ivy in May 2013 with a 3.82 with 200+ credits credits (120 required for graduation.) I'm a URM (hispanic), I've got a lot of relevant international work experience, speak more than 10 languages, and would have great recs. I'm really shooting for HYS. (I'm sure anyone who knows me and is reading this right now can already identify me.)

I took the June 2014 test in the States and was ridiculously prepared. I was PT'ing a 175 average and almost NEVER scored below a 170. (My diagnostic was a 168.) However, in the middle of the test I realized I had misbubbled the second section, cancelled my score right there, and walked out. It was super disappointing, but such is life.

I recently took the September 2014 test in Central Asia. The month leading up to the test I had serious visa issues and had to travel to Kyrgyzstan and Turkey for several weeks to sort things out. I only came back a few days before the test. This really cut into my studying and I barely got to review. Although I was confident and still really knew my stuff, during the actual test I froze up during the logic games and basically guessed on half of the third game and the whole fourth game. It was worse than I had ever done. And I got a 167, which is below any PT I had ever done, including my diagnostic.

Should I retake it a third time given the circumstances? I really think I scored way below my potential, and my reasons for cancelling the first time had nothing to do with performance. On the one hand, I don't want adcoms to think I'm batshit crazy. On the other, I really can't see how retaking it and doing better would be worse than applying with this score. Would it help? Do I still have a shot at HYS? Thoughts?