My 180 study method Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
fra

Bronze

My 180 study method

Post by fra » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:06 pm

I've had a couple of questions about my study method - so I wrote up an outline of how I studied to get a 180.

Diagnostic: 172 (PT 29, untimed)
Tools used: Powerscore LG Bible (Old version - 2009), Powerscore LR Bible (Old version - 2009), three books of Official LSAT Prep Tests, Cambridge packets of most difficult questions (LR, LG, and RC), LSAT Trainer (I didn't find this helpful, I only read half of it)

Time spent: Approximately 2.5 months

Philosophy: Everyone learns differently, no one method will work for everyone. Look at how other people have studied and use the methods that you think will work for you.

Background info: I studied while working full time + (more than 40 hours per week). I spent between 10 and 20 hours a week studying. I took a month off from studying in the middle for personal reasons, so I studied for 1.5 months, took a month off, and then studied for the month before the test.

Study method:
The method that I used broke studying into 3 phases.
Phase 1: Foundation (books and untimed practice problems)
Phase 2: Application (timed sections and exams)
Phase 3: Increasing difficulty (timed exams with increased difficulty)

During all phases:
Blind Review EVERYTHING
http://7sage.com/the-blind-review-how-t ... at-part-1/

Phase 0: Optional diagnostic and mandatory data tracking.
If you want a diagnostic to make your improvement graphs more accurate (because you're keeping track of your scores in a spreadsheet or score tracking tool) then take this timed. If you just want to see how comfortable you are with the questions, or want to know what section to study first then take it untimed.