Help... taking the LSAT four times? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
YorkshireRose

New

Help... taking the LSAT four times?

Post by YorkshireRose » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Just in need of some advice and/or anecdotal evidence. I might take the LSAT a fourth time this December. I got a 161 on the Oct 2011 test, 164 in Oct 2013, and 167 on the most recent LSAT. Just short of my goal, which is agonizing. I didn't study much for the first two takes, but I studied for about 5 months straight every day for that 167 and I'm pretty disappointed. I choked on one of the logic games, which is usually my best section, and missed 3 questions (where I normally miss zero). Now I'm wondering if it's worth it to take the LSAT one more time. I do believe I can crack 170, and I made significant improvements in the RC and LR sections (down to -4 where I was normally -8). I have a modified study plan in mind for the re-take, mainly involving LG drilling. I know I can do better. But… I'm worried about how 4 scores look to adcomms.

My first choice is UCLA. My chances with my current stats don't look too promising (GPA is 3.76). Is it worth it to take the LSAT a fourth time, or will it hurt me more than help me, even if I achieve a 170+?

p89sean16

New

Re: Help... taking the LSAT four times?

Post by p89sean16 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:08 pm

I don't believe scoring higher will hurt you at UCLA or similar schools, maybe a 4th test will be averaged at Berkeley / Y / S, etc. Continued improvement and upward trends are definitely favored, and I think adcomms know the LSAT tests taking the LSAT, rather than any great skill. For full disclosure I am 3x taker, having gone from 159 -> 166 -> 169, and I added an addendum about how I take self improvement and my law school education seriously, and as such worked until I received a score most reflective of my abilities. All the adcomms I have spoken to mentioned it was totally okay.