Page 1 of 1

Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:47 pm
by Moniqueluv
Detectives investigating a citywide increase in burglaries questioned exactly seven suspects--S, T, V, W,X, Y and Z- Each on a different one of seven consecutive days. Each suspect was questioned exactly once. Any suspect who confessed did so while being questioned. The investigation conformed to the following:
T was questioned on day three.
The suspect questioned on day four did not confess.
S was questioned after W was questioned.
Both X and V were questioned after Z was questioned.
No suspects confessed after W was questioned.
Exactly two suspects confessed after T was questioned.

Not really understanding the significance of being questioned vs. confessing. Can anyone set this up for me? Help!

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:58 pm
by salitis
Confess, admitting guilty after questioning.

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:09 pm
by mystfan1
Ummmmm, so just a quick try and it I got that my sketch looks like this:



Z = 1 or 2
T=3
W =6
S = 7

Where Z is either position 1 or position 2, so your remaining suspects that you can't place exactly are V, X, and Y.

RULES:

T = 3
4 = not confess
W...S
Z...X
Z...Y
No confessions after W
2 confessions after T


I think whether they confessed or not is important in the placement of W, since no one can confess after him and there must be TWO confessions after T. Otherwise they might ask questions about who confessed and who didn't. You know that position 4 doesn't confess, and S doesn't because it's after W, so slots 5 and 6 are the confessors......

So you know who confessed and who didn't is positions 4-7

4567
NCCN


That's what I got. Anyone get that?

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:21 pm
by Moniqueluv
How do you know exactly where W and S go? I know it goes WS but how come they can't be in positions 5 and 6?

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:41 pm
by mystfan1
Because there have to be EXACTLY two confessions after T. You already know 4 did NOT confess, and there can't be any confessions after W. So, if you put W in 5, and S in 6 or 7 it won't work. Because there can't be any confessions after W, so here's what you would get: 4 - non, 5(W) - confess, 6 - non, 7 - non. Since you HAVE to have two confessions after T, they have to be in positions five and six.

Get it now?

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:43 pm
by ptjd
Hi,


We know that T is in slot 3. We know slot 4 doesn't confess. We know exactly two confess after T. So that leaves us with slots 5,6, and 7. We know that W cannot go before T, since that would violate one of the rules so W has to go after T. We alos can infer that S can't confess, since S is after W and nobody after W confesses. So the only place for S to go would have to be in the 7th slot not to violate the condition that exactly two after T confess.

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:19 pm
by Moniqueluv
mystfan1 I do get it now. Thanks!

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:27 pm
by Moniqueluv
One more thing. I was able to figure out all of the answers to the questions that followed except for this one:

If Z was the second suspect to confess, then each of the following statements could be true EXCEPT:
A) T confessed
B) T did not confessed
C) V did not confess
D) X confessed
E) Y did not confess

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:35 am
by takingbackamerica
Monique, the answer to your question below is E.

When we break this down, we can see that Z is second. Since we know that Z must go before X and V, Z must be in the second position. Since T by the rules is third, and W and S must be sixth and seventh, respectively.

So we know that Y must be first. But it says Z is the second to confess. Therefore, Y must confess.

It doesn't matter what T does, and X or V can go into the fourth or fifth positions. Since this is the case, X or V could either have confessed or not, there's no way to tell.

E is your answer.

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:41 am
by Moniqueluv
OMG! I totally get it now. Gotta pay attention to every detail. Thanks so much!

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:21 pm
by yeahyeah2121
PT 53, December 2007, LG Game 3

Sorry to resurrect this question from the dead, but I just took this test and the rule "Exactly two suspects confessed after Y was questioned" confused me.

If we assumed that these two confessions have to come AFTER T, as in in spots 4,5,6,7 then obviously 5 and 6 have to be confessions. HOWEVER, in the wording of the question, it says only that two suspects after T was QUESTIONED, confessed. Doesn't that also include the possibility that T could confess and wouldn't his confession count towards the "exactly 2 suspects confessed after T was QUESTIONED?" Looking at the game this way makes it A LOT harder, as there would be multiple locations for W and the respective remaining confession. My prep course explanation just sticks NCCN in spots 4,5,6,7 but the language of the question doesn't indicate that that's the case. Am I crazy or is this really vague? I'm sure I'm missing something here. I would really appreciate it if someone could explain! Thanks

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:51 pm
by spets
yeahyeah2121 wrote:PT 53, December 2007, LG Game 3

Sorry to resurrect this question from the dead, but I just took this test and the rule "Exactly two suspects confessed after Y was questioned" confused me.

If we assumed that these two confessions have to come AFTER T, as in in spots 4,5,6,7 then obviously 5 and 6 have to be confessions. HOWEVER, in the wording of the question, it says only that two suspects after T was QUESTIONED, confessed. Doesn't that also include the possibility that T could confess and wouldn't his confession count towards the "exactly 2 suspects confessed after T was QUESTIONED?" Looking at the game this way makes it A LOT harder, as there would be multiple locations for W and the respective remaining confession. My prep course explanation just sticks NCCN in spots 4,5,6,7 but the language of the question doesn't indicate that that's the case. Am I crazy or is this really vague? I'm sure I'm missing something here. I would really appreciate it if someone could explain! Thanks


In your post, I think you made a typo about the rule, since it's "Exactly two suspects confessed after T was questioned," but you refer to the correct rule later on. I see how reading it like that would complicate things greatly, but for some reason, I automatically assumed that "after T was questioned" referred to the confessions/not confessions of those individuals in spots 4-7.

Re: Help With this Logic Game Question

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:11 pm
by yeahyeah2121
Sorry about the typo. I did mean to write "T." I automatically assumed that as well but when I went to diagram my setup I noticed the empty slot under T started considering the 2 required confessions in relation to it and thennnn things went downhill. In reading it again I think they actually tie up the loop hole I thought I found with an unindented rule: "Any suspect who confessed did so while being questioned" (essentially questioning/confessing occurs simultaneously). This is just another one of those times when I want to kick myself for assuming the game/question has to be harder than it appears. Tonight and tomorrow I think I'm going to take it easy and try to remind myself to go with my instincts on Saturday. Anyway, thanks for your help. You can see how my first interpretation could leave someone a little frustrated. :x