Double Checking Answers Tips/Suggestions? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Oskosh

Silver

Double Checking Answers Tips/Suggestions?

Post by Oskosh » Wed Jun 25, 2014 9:08 pm

Hey guys,

I have a question. I have been studying for the LSAT for a good 4 1/2 months now, and the practice tests that I've taken indicate good results. However, I have come across a hurdle, as it were. The most recent test I took was Prep Test 52 (began using the LSAT trainer), on which I scored a 172 (-3 LR, -2 LG, -2 LR, -2 RC). I used up all my time for the first LR and the LG (the 2nd logic game threw me off because I said screw the inferences, and dove right in), but for the second set of LR I had a good 2 1/2 minutes left, and for the RC I had 4 minutes remaining. I did return to one of the questions on RC that allowed me to fix one answer, but there was one passage of which I was uncertain (the game theory evolution one). Now, ever since I picked up the LSAT trainer, it has done magic for my RC, as I have not gotten less than -3 on RC since then. However, I was not willing to reread the entire passage using the structural approach that they suggest, because, hey, it was a long test and I wasn't having it. The same with logical reasoning. I begin to re-read stimulus, and I just can't subject myself to such torture.

So, my question is: If you ever have extra time, how do you review those dubious answers without feeling like you are expending a significant amount of energy? Is it just something that I have to force myself to do? Like reading all 5 answer choices (although I admit not always doing this...)?

I just don't want to plateau right here. I have never hit -0 on LR, and I feel that at least getting -0 on one of the LR sections is essential (with games and RC it goes from -0 to -2). :(