Studying a year in advance-good or bad idea? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.

How far in advance did you begin studying for the LSAT?

1-2 months
16%
3-4 months
30%
5-6 months
19%
7-8 months
7%
9-10 months
5%
11-12 months
7%
More than a year
16%

Total votes: 43

179orBust

Bronze

Studying a year in advance-good or bad idea?

Post by 179orBust » Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:11 am

Plan on taking the June 2015 LSAT, and I decided I would begin studying tomorrow. Got a 150 on my diagnostic, so obviously a lot of work needs to be done in order to achieve my goal of a 172+ score.

Am I making a bad decision by studying a year in advance? I want to prevent burnout/ using up all the materials and I'm afraid if I start too early both these things may happen.

Also, in the beginning of my study process, how many hours would you say is a good amount to put in per day? I'm a novice when it comes to LSAT prep so any help you guys can provide me with would really be appreciated.

And to those taking the LSAT this Monday:GOOD LUCK!

malleus discentium

Silver

Re: Studying a year in advance-good or bad idea?

Post by malleus discentium » Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:13 am

Are you in UG? Why do you think you need a whole year?

stanfordxhopeful

New

Post by stanfordxhopeful » Sun Jun 08, 2014 5:17 am

It depends on your learning style. Some people only need 3 months to prepare while others need 6 or more. Personally, a year sounds like too long, though.

alexrodriguez

Silver

Post by alexrodriguez » Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:56 am

I started the June 2014 Study Group 362 days before the exam.

Just saying

Cradle6

Bronze

Post by Cradle6 » Sun Jun 08, 2014 12:02 pm

I started July of last year with a diagnostic of 155. I'm taking the real thing tomorrow.

I think a year is great, but you need to stay motivated and have a plan of action. I started in a class, but did solo study afterwards.