Am I crazy to retake? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
BillsFan9907

Silver

Am I crazy to retake?

Post by BillsFan9907 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:24 pm

I started "studying" for the lsat at the end of 2010 after graduating undergrad from Emory. It just wasn't working. I couldn't make any progress with the games. My performance IQ is not all that great. I even tried hypnosis but it didn't work. I started playing around with the LSATs again in 2011. I took a powerscore class but couldn't break 165. I gave the LSATs another shot in 2012 and was able to get 169 on a practice test. I still wasn't satisfied. I studied throughout 2013. I was hitting 173-177 on practice tests. I took 4 proctored exams at Manhattan LSAT! - scoring 171, 177, 173 and 177. Come test day in December I got a 169.

I've been offered full scholarships at WUSTL and USC. I have been accepted to NYU and Georgetown.

But I have decided to sit this cycle out and retake. I have a perfect undergrad GPA and a master's degree. But as you guys can guess, I am getting kind of old.

I have one last shot at the LSAT and I just don't know what I can do to push me over the edge. I mean, I took 4 freaking proctored exams.

Am I crazy to turn down my offers and retake?

Some questions:

1. Why do people who score high on practice tests screw up on the real thing?
2. What non-LSAT things must I do? I am ready to go way outside of the box like burning through my old Calculus book for hours on end to improve my focus. I am also thinking about memorizing tests to improve my memory skills.
3. Should I shell out the cash and take another class?
Last edited by BillsFan9907 on Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:26 am, edited 3 times in total.

Gold

Re: Am I crazy to retake?

Post by 20170322 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:26 pm