Started from 163, what are my chances of getting 175? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
jasonjerk123

New

Started from 163, what are my chances of getting 175?

Post by jasonjerk123 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 5:37 am

This is my first time experiencing LSAT, I just did two timed tests at home, 2007 june pt and 2004 june pt, both of which scored -18, somewhere roughly 163 I guess.
2007:
RC: -4
LG: -3
LR: -11

2004:
RC: -4
LG: -2
LR: -12

I can see LR is my biggest problem and the same goes to RC, I'm thinking about scoring somewhere near 175 next Feb, what are my chances? any suggestions on how I might improve? Thanks!

Jeffort

Gold

Re: Started from 163, what are my chances of getting 175?

Post by Jeffort » Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:36 am

It's possible with decent chances of being within your true range given that you started cold at 163, but no guarantee you yourself can or will get all the way there so cannot put a probability on it. You just have to prep really hard and well and see how high you can pull it up with a lot of effort over time dedicated to the test. That is the only way to figure out your chances, try to do it and see how close you can get by trying your best and not giving up easily. The 170s, especially high 175+s are fickle, elusive, very unforgiving scores that are really extra hard to get your hands wrapped all the way around. I'd say your chances of at least scoring 170+ are pretty high with serious prep given your starting score, but cannot ever put high odds of anyone hitting 175+ based on a starting score unless it is a legit 170+. That doesn't mean any odds against it, just have no basis to make positive odds for it either.

Now that you have established your goal, get started with a good prep plan and routine right away so you can start making progress. Figure out a good prep plan, get good prep resources, make a study plan, begin preparing according to study plan. Report back with questions and updates as needed.