Page 1 of 1

A Question about Grouping Games

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:25 am
by cookiecrisp
So let's say I have a rule that states this:

If C and D are selected, then E must be selected.

When I draw that rule, I typically do this:

C
and ----> E
D

E ----> C or D

My question is, can I still place E in the game without C and D? Doesn't this rule just mean that E must be in if C and D are in, but otherwise it can be in as it pleases?

Re: A Question about Grouping Games

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 11:35 am
by jshaffer740
cookiecrisp wrote:So let's say I have a rule that states this:

If C and D are selected, then E must be selected.

When I draw that rule, I typically do this:

C
and ----> E
D

E ----> C or D

My question is, can I still place E in the game without C and D? Doesn't this rule just mean that E must be in if C and D are in, but otherwise it can be in as it pleases?
Yes - just remember this. "Sufficient condition not triggered, rule irrelevant." Meaning, if E is in, you have no rule triggered, because you have no rule in which "E in" is in the sufficient condition.