An Article on "BURNING OUT" Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
kiyoku

Bronze

An Article on "BURNING OUT"

Post by kiyoku » Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:32 pm

On Burning-out

Something I found incredibly useful for the LSAT preparation phase was David Shenk's book, "the Genius in all of us." I will be borrowing his words and his concepts extensively. If you're feeling discouraged or a bit down today, please feel free to read this. I hope it will give you an extra boost and hopefully it'll be worth your time. I am no pro, and I've got a long way to go, but I do think I understand the concept of failure rather well compared to myself 4 or 5 years ago.

I believe that it is crucial for most people who are truly aiming for a 180 to have some form of the mindset that Shenk describes in his book.

"Simply wanting it badly enough is not enough. Deliberate practice requires a mind-set of never, ever, being satisfied with your current ability. It requires a constant self-critique, a pathological restlessness, a passion to aim consistently just beyond one's capability so that daily disappointment and failure is actually desired, and a never-ending resolve to dust oneself off and try again and again and again."

Most people drill and do PTs to see how much they can get right. This is a weak mindset. Some people study to see how much they can get wrong. This is a less weak mindset. A small group of people will study to see how far they deviated from what they believe to be the optimal strategy and then launch an investigation as to why they deviated from perfection. This is the correct mindset. We need, as Shenk puts it, "pathological restlessness." We need "a passion to aim consistently just beyond [our] capability so that daily disappointment and failure is actually desired."