Worthiness of waiting until October? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
patfeeney

Bronze

Worthiness of waiting until October?

Post by patfeeney » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:08 pm

I decided to drop out of the June test and see if I can possibly raise my PT average score to 173-175 by October.

Here's my question: What is the likelihood of this happening?

My diagnostic test back in January yielded a 158. My highest score since has been a 170, although my average is between 164-165.
I studied throughout the Spring semester (college junior here), but between juggling classes and part-time work I rarely had a chance to study more than 5-6 hours a week. Attempting to get my score up at the last minute, I burnt out quickly during summer vacation and have made little to no progress over the past two or three weeks.

With two full months of which I'll have almost nothing to do other than study for LSATs, is it likely I could raise my score this substantially by October, even while juggling application materials? I don't think it it possible for me to wait through this admissions cycle for the next one, so my options are to take the test on Monday or in October. Since Monday is ruled out, October is likely my only option.

Is it wise to drop the June test, knowing I'll only have another two months to affectively study for a pseudo-retake? Would I be able to raise my score substantially to justify losing the $160 I've already paid?

magickware

Bronze

Re: Worthiness of waiting until October?

Post by magickware » Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:11 pm

If you have a solid understanding of what your issues are and a solid plan on attacking said issues, you can raise your score from a 164 to 175+ within a month.

The problem is in the execution and actually knowing what your issues are.