When to take the LSAT? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Bobson

New

When to take the LSAT?

Post by Bobson » Mon May 27, 2013 2:40 am

Early this year, I decided to go to law school. I finished my associate degree this past semester, and have mapped out and begun enrolling in a courseload that will allow me to complete my undergrad work in mid-2014. The thing is, whether or not I'm able to graduate over the Summer of 2014 is essentially going to be a matter of luck. Northern Arizona University, where I'm completing my BS, requires a specific course to be taken in the final semester; and the best my advisor can do is tell me that specific course is "sometimes" offered over the Summer semester. Long story short, I have no guarantee of whether I'll graduate in Summer '14, or Fall '14.

Ideally, I would like to complete my BS in Summer '14 and begin law school immediately in the Fall, so I've registered for the LSAT next month, and have planned on applying to schools early this Fall. Now I'm wondering if this really is the best plan. The reason I'm rushing to finish undergrad and begin law school is because I'm a 28 year old husband and father, and I've been working full-time (in law enforcement) throughout my undergrad studies so far. My wife doesn't have a career that allows her to support the family well, so its a family sacrifice for me to even consider law school at this point.

What I'm wondering is, should I take the LSAT in June, apply to schools this Fall, and hope for the graduation in Summer next year? If I do this and get accepted, and end up not being able to graduate until the completion of Fall '14, will my acceptance at a school roll over to the following year? Or should I postpone my LSAT until next June, take it then, and plan to begin law school for certain in 2015?

Thanks. My apologies for the lengthy post.

RhymesLikeDimes

Bronze

Re: When to take the LSAT?

Post by RhymesLikeDimes » Mon May 27, 2013 8:23 am