Sufficient and necessary condition help. Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Chowfun

Bronze

Sufficient and necessary condition help.

Post by Chowfun » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:24 pm

I am sort of panicking. I am going to take the June 2013 test. I am studying now for the LSAT. I am completely stumped on S&N Conditions. I understand the rules, I know how to apply them, but for some reason I get confused. Sometimes when abbreviating the S&N cond. I forget what the abbreviation I wrote stood for. Sometimes I get confused when working out the answer choices. Other times I give up because I have taken so much time on the problem and I'm frazzled. I do get the answer when I work at it and not give up, but S&N cond. sometimes get so confusing that it makes me angry. Is there a faster method to doing these sorts of problems, because I can never see me getting the answer in this 1:45 time frame.

Can anyone give me advice? I'm have decided I will do everything I can to beat this test, but I feel like I'm fighting a losing battle.

Chowfun

Bronze

Re: Sufficient and necessary condition help.

Post by Chowfun » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:35 pm

For example,"If the city council maintains spending at the same level as this year's, it can be expected to levy sales tax of 2 percent next year. Thus, if the council levies a higher tax, it will be because the council is increasing its expenditures."

So I set up the question and simplify the S&N conditions, but for some reason I am not understand the purpose or something isn't clicking that when I go to answer the question I'm frazzled. Ugh, I really am confused. I think so confused that I can feel a blockage of some sort.

CardozoLaw09

Gold

Post by CardozoLaw09 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:49 pm

In response to your example; if X happens, then Y happens. And if Y happens then Z happens.