PT 61, Section 4, Q25 Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
fruitoftheloom

Bronze

PT 61, Section 4, Q25

Post by fruitoftheloom » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:00 pm

Okay - so I'm not really good at the formal logic questions. If I can intuit the answer, I do better than actually trying to write out the symbols. On question 25, my writing looked like Good Life -> Social Integrity -> Individual Freedom -> Rule of Law. (I tried applying the "not rule"). I chose answer C - you can't have the good life without rule of law. I don't understand why that's incorrect and instead it's B - you can't have social integrity w/o the rule of law.

Help?

bp shinners

Gold

Re: PT 61, Section 4, Q25

Post by bp shinners » Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:20 pm

Alright, let's take a look at the formal logic here:

First thing I notice is a 'without' in the first clause of a sufficient assumption question - that tells me I'm going to be diagramming. Second thing I notice is that the clause after the comma starts with 'for' which is a clear indicator that what follows is a premise supporting what I just said; ergo, that first clause is my conclusion.

To diagram 'without', I change it to 'if not'. So the first clause/conclusion becomes:
If not Rule of Law, then no Individual Freedom
or
~RL -> ~IF

Then, I move to my premises, both using 'without' so I change them both to 'if not'.
If not Social Integrity, then no Individual Freedom (~SI -> ~IF)
If not Social Integrity, then Pursuing Good Life not Possible (~SI -> ~PGLP)

And, overall, it looks like:
~SI -> ~IF
~SI -> ~PGLP

I notice a few things. First, RL never shows up in my premises, so I need that to be in my answer choice. Second, both of my premises share a sufficient condition, so I can't combine them (well, I can, but it gives me ~SI -> ~IF and ~PGLP, which is nothing new).