Alcohol and the LSAT Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Swimp

Bronze

Alcohol and the LSAT

Post by Swimp » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:25 pm

This is kind of an odd (and maybe overly neurotic) question, but it's one that it probably wouldn't be possible to get any input on except in this kind of forum.

I drink a lot. According to the government's definition of a "drink," I probably have at least 3 every night, and I often have more. I've been drinking at this rate for maybe 5 years. Has anyone had any experiences with quitting alcohol short-term? I'm gearing up for October and I'm torn between cutting out alcohol in the interests of keeping my mind as clear as possible, versus my brain possibly having developed...a certain kind of expectation, you know? Not to mention the whole falling asleep thing. I'm mostly hoping for some empirically-based advice, but what do you all think?

ben4847

Silver

Re: Alcohol and the LSAT

Post by ben4847 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:56 pm

sounds like you're a natural born lawyer.

TripTrip

Gold

Post by TripTrip » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:13 pm

Quick drinking three days before the LSAT. The night before, take NyQuil at least 14 hours before test check-in time to sleep soundly through the night.

Aggressive, but it gets the job done.

patentlybored

New

Post by patentlybored » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:45 pm

Last edited by patentlybored on Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JamMasterJ

Platinum

Post by JamMasterJ » Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:31 pm

If you have that serious of a drinking habit, you're too close to the LSAT to quit completely. You'll be completely fucked up going through withdrawal for the next week or more, which will seriously hamper your studying ability.

I drink less than you, but I didn't stop drinking because of the LSAT. In fact, the best preptest I had was the day after I'd had several drinks.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!