Not again... Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
GMX2000

New

Not again...

Post by GMX2000 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:41 pm

I'm freaking out a bit right now. Before I started studying months ago, I got 156 on two consecutive practice tests. I had originally planned to take the June test, but due to my poor performance on the practice tests I decided to postpone to October, i.e., two friggin days from now. Shortly after postponing, after I studied a bit, I managed a 161. But this morning, again, TWO DAYS before the test, after over 2 months of studying, I took another practice test, and got 156 again. So, you can see why I would be stressed out. Admittedly I perhaps didn't drill as many practice questions as I should have, but I can't change that now.

If I'm still getting 156 even now, should I even bother taking the test? I would rather not postpone it to December, for a couple reasons. First, I already postponed it from June. Second, postponing it will probably mean I have to wait a year to go to law school, which is something I'd really rather not do because...well, I want to start working, and in addition it seems like a year off before law school might look bad ("Hmm, did he take a year off because he couldn't cut it with the LSAT without a year and a half of preparation?"). But, I'd rather take a year off than miss out on a potential scholarship etc. (leading to a ton of unnecessary loan debt that I'll have to worry about paying off in an..."uncertain"...job market) that I could have gotten with a high LSAT score. My GPA is 3.99, which I'm really proud of, I have really good softs (if I do say so myself), I'm taking an internship at a law firm this semester, etc., but as every possible source has been telling me the LSAT is for all intents and purposes more important than all of those. At the same time, I don't want the year off itself to jeopardize my chances at a scholarship.