Strategy to break score dropoff on recent tests? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
schmohawkism

New

Strategy to break score dropoff on recent tests?

Post by schmohawkism » Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:43 am

Hey ya'll long time lurker here looking for advice on where to continue my studying/review.

I've been studying for six months and was previously happy with my pt scores (avg 172; my target score, incidentally)

However, I haven't broken 170 since pt53 (53-60 all 165-169)

I have lg on lock for the most part but lr and rc seem to be the wild cards

I've read through the bibles a few times each but the specifics are foggy.

I've been keeping track of my problem areas (thks to 3link's spreadsheet). Now I just need suggestions on how to attack these during my review

Whatta ya think?

tyro

Silver

Re: Strategy to break score dropoff on recent tests?

Post by tyro » Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:04 am

I'm assuming you're preparing for this upcoming October test.

Well there's always the possibility of burnout. How often are you taking PT's and has there been any significant change in life stressors since the score drop?

Another question might be whether your timing on sections could have for some reason worsened with these modern tests. Are you generally finishing the LR and RC sections on time?

At this point it might not be a good idea to try the Manhattan RC and LR books or another respectable prep source but it could be worth a try if you can push through the material quickly.

Also, with RC and LR there of course trends. Have you noticed particular passage types (diversity, science, law, humanity) or LR question types (parallel the reasoning, assumption family, correlation/causation type, strengthen/weaken) questions that are giving you a hard time?

schmohawkism

New

Post by schmohawkism » Sun Aug 28, 2011 1:47 am