Non-Native Speaker - What Elese Can I do? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
melucky5

New

Non-Native Speaker - What Elese Can I do?

Post by melucky5 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:23 pm

My first LSAT score was 143 (please do not laugh, I know...) after studying for several months.

This time I have been studying much harder every day for about 3 months already (I did all actual LSAT each second day, then analyzed the mistakes next day. I read all Power Score books several times). My native language is not English. So I also memorized 15-20 new words almost each day (like "engulf", "algae", "eschew" etc.) I took these words from actual tests and learned about 2000 words total.)

Going to re-take LSAT this October and pretty nervous. I make 155 max with timing at home now. And my goal is 157-159.

I work full time as a paralegal and I can study for LSAT at nights and on the week-ends. So I approximately spend about 3,5 hrs per day and 20 hrs per week-end for studying.

Any advices on how to bump it up? Any other non-native speakers?

Thank you so much!

jlhero

New

Re: Non-Native Speaker - What Elese Can I do?

Post by jlhero » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:45 pm

hey man, i think i can give u some advice.

u need a lot of time to master English first. that means, u have to memorize vocab, watch a lot of english tvs, read english magazines, and talk to english speakers.

and, if ur score is below 160 and if ur aim is low, maybe try to concentrate on LGs. if u have a -0 in LG, u can have around 10 errors per each lr and rc section.

ss3825

New

Post by ss3825 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:30 pm

melucky5 wrote:My first LSAT score was 143 (please do not laugh, I know...) after studying for several months.