Cancellation and General Application Strategy Advice Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
ESmith

New

Cancellation and General Application Strategy Advice

Post by ESmith » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:25 pm

I just took the June LSAT after about 3 days of preparation (I know) and am planning to take the October test.

I took June more for the experience than the score because I knew I hadn't prepared for it. I was planning to cancel because, while I feel confident about RC and LR, I didn't manage my time AT ALL on the games. I ended up guessing on half of the games questions. I've seen conflicting advice about cancelling, and I'm wondering if anyone has any insights particular to my situation.

I have a 3.1 undergrad GPA from a top-10 school due to serious health and family issues, which I know on its own rules out the top schools. However, I am finishing up a Masters in Public Health with a 4.0 GPA while working full-time. I have 4+ years of work experience: 1 year in public interest law as a class action litigation paralegal, a brief stint as a technology project manager, and almost 3 years in public health.

I feel confident that I can reach a 170 with serious study (my 3 cold practice tests were in the 164-168 range). I think that a 170 plus MPH and work experience should put me in the running for a number of well-regarded schools, though probably not T10 or T14.

So, given my situation, should I cancel my June LSAT knowing that it will be significantly lower than my goal? Or should I keep it as information to inform future preparation and an insurance policy on October?

As well, I'd appreciate any strategy advice on the application process related to my specific situation. I feel like my MPH and work experience should count for something, but I could be wrong.

shastaca

New

Re: Cancellation and General Application Strategy Advice

Post by shastaca » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:34 pm